Elastic Heart

I needed something to make me feel strong today, to give me a sort of inner peace.  I tried meditation out for a bit but then noticed it wasn’t working today… that’s when I remembered that mindfulness comes in different packages for every single person, and so I went back to what pulled me through heartbreak and reminded me of the warrior that lies within my soul. This blessing came in the form of Sia’s song ‘Elastic Heart’ and out of all the advices I received and all the pitiful looks and alcohol filled nights- it was the ONE thing that gave me comfort…it was like Sia had written the song after looking into my own heart and mind, it made me notice how strong I was because I was NOT willing to give up on me, no matter what, I deserved peace and I could find it only within myself.

So, today, the second day of what has already proven to be a tough week, I went back to its powerful lines:

And I want it, I want my life so bad
I’m doing everything I can
Then another one bites the dust
It’s hard to lose a chosen one

You did not break me
I’m still fighting for peace

I’ve got thick skin and an elastic heart
But your blade it might be too sharp
I’m like a rubberband until you pull too hard
I may snap and I move fast
But you won’t see me fall apart
‘Cos I’ve got an elastic heart

May you all find your inner strength this week,

-M

Leave a Reply

